March 30, 2017

Discover Aurora

IMG_2542Welcome to the beautiful Province of Aurora. Aurora is located in Central Luzon. It has 8 equally beautiful municipalities. Baler, its capital, San Luis, Maria Aurora, Dipaculao, Dinalungan, Casiguran, Dilasag, and Dingalan.
It's been a common misconception that Aurora is still part of the Quezon Province. Not anymore. It was in 1979 when Aurora was officially granted a Provincial status. The province was named after the former First Lady Doña Aurora Aragon Quezon.
Aurora has also produced some of the most prominent names in the field of politics and entertainment. Manuel Luis Quezon, the President of the Philippine Commonwealth, will always be one of the favorite sons of the province. We also have former Senator Edgardo Angara and his son, Senator Sonny Angara. And of course, the award winning actor, Heneral Luna's John Arcilla.

Every February 19, Aurora celebrates its founding anniversary. It is also the birth anniversary of Doña Aurora Aragon Quezon. So, if you're IN for an awesome nature adventure, be sure to #DiscoverAurora now.

1. Baler


Baler is the capital of Aurora Province and its oldest municipality. The name "baler" is said to have originated from "balod," a type of mountain pigeon. Baler is the second most populous town and the densest in Aurora although it is the smallest in terms of land area. It is also where President Manuel L. Quezon and his wife, Dona Aurora Aragon, hail from.

2. Casiguran
casapsapan beach casiguranCasiguran is one of the three northern towns collectively known as the 'Dicadi' area, which stands for Dinalungan-Casiguran-Dilasag. Among the three, Casiguran is the most populous town and is often considered the northern capital of Aurora. Casiguran is the most developed town in Dicadi, boasting an airport, a full-scale hospital and white sandy beaches.
3. Dilasag
dilasag canawer
Dilasag is the northernmost municipality of Aurora Province. Being the farthest town from Metro Manila, it is largely undeveloped. Its beauty lies in its natural attractions: a long, unspoiled coastline, highlighted by fine, white-sand beaches. This quaint town is ideal for visitors longing for an escape into idyllic environs.
4. Dinalungan
Dinalungan is the least populous municipality in Aurora. It is bound by the Dinalungan River, Dinadiawan Creek and Casiguran Sound. While surrounded by water, the town is nestled in the mountains, making for excellent hikes that afford spectacular views of the ocean.
5. Dingalan
Aurora Province not Aurora Quezon
Dingalan is the nearest municipality to Metro Manila, and the southernmost town of Aurora. The Sierra Madres separate Dingalan from the rest of the province.A portion of Barangay Umiray in Dingalan was proclaimed in January 2000 as a Special Economic Zone by President Joseph Estrada. It forms part of the Pacific Coast City Ecozone that also includes areas located in Barangay Umiray in Gen. Nakar, Quezon. The ecozone is destined to be a world-class resort and investment haven.
6. Dipaculao
Dipaculao is the northernmost town of the central sub-region of Aurora. Its land area is a long strip that offers a stunning vista from any vantage point. Dipaculao is bound by the Pacific Ocean to the east and by virgin forests of the Sierra Madres Mountain Range to the west. Traveling along the Dipaculao highway, one is smitten by the sublime contrast of breezes from the Pacific Ocean and sylvan zephyrs from the Sierra Madres. The town's waterfalls and natural springs offer a pleasing respite from the scenic drive.
7. Maria Aurora
Maria Aurora is the most populous municipality in Aurora. It is the only non-coastal town in the Province and is largely a mountainous area. One of its barangays, Villa Aurora, is situated right by the Aurora Memorial National Park, which encompasses most of the Baler-Bongabon Highway and the Sierra Madres forests around it. Tourists flock to the town to visit the famous Millennium Tree.
8. San Luis
San Luis is the largest municipality in Aurora and the home of Baler Airport. San Luis is the first town one happens upon after traveling through the Aurora National Memorial Park. Like Dipaculao, San Luis welcomes visitors with a dazzling array of waterfalls and natural spring pools.
Credits: Photos for Casiguran, Dilasag, and Dingalan were obtained from the Aurora PH website.